Use What You Have Cooking Delayed

Last week was a whirlwind of activity as Michael and I prepared for the new school year.  Here’s a brief run-down of our crazy week.  I bet yours was similar.

  • Shopped for kids’ school clothes (had to be Aeropostale) and school supplies (had to be Target since the clothes had to be Aeropostale).
  • Took an overnight trip to San Antonio for a romantic weekend before we…
  • Met Michael’s parents halfway to retrieve our kids after their two-week vacation.
  • Exchanged kids’ clothes–every pair of jeans, shorts, and capris we bought our sweet girl; jeans for our son cause he grew about two inches–because we underestimated our children’s growth spurts this summer when we shopped without them.  (Note to self:  don’t EVER do that again!)
  • Had a Last-Blast-Before-School Day with the kids:  let them pick what they wanted for lunch and dinner, saw Shrek 4, went putt-putting and go-karting, then got ice cream!
  • Went to their school open house.
  • Bought more school supplies and also groceries for friends who came to visit over the weekend.

Needless to say, I did not do any cooking.  Therefore, we ate leftovers and went out to eat…a lot.

I am ashamed to say how much we spent at restaurants last week, so I won’t.  It has motivated me to get back on track and make healthy, affordable meals at home.  With school starting this week and getting the kids back into a routine, this will be much easier.  I hope.

I apologize for making you wait.  Look for recipes from The Eclectic Woman’s kitchen this week.

I promise.

Really.

1 Comment

Filed under Vegetarian/Vegan Living

One response to “Use What You Have Cooking Delayed

  1. Crystal Malek

    Understandable! When you have kids, chaos is inevitable! I like the concept, so can’t wait to see what you share. I usually end up doing this toward the end of the month, when I’m out of money or too tired to get to the store. I’ve had some really delicious meals come from just using what I have and getting creative. But, at times, it can be pretty inedible. 🙂

Leave a Reply

