Organizing for Christmas

Photo from stock.xchng

I know what you’re thinking. 

Christmas?!  School just got underway.  I’ve barely managed brushing my teeth and showering before lunch.  Don’t even get me thinking about the holidays yet!

Okay, calm down.  Do you have your coffee and some chocolate?  Alright.  Now that you’re over the initial shock, you can read with an open mind.

I discovered a gem of a website about nine years ago called Organized Home.  I was searching for an organizational tool that would help me keep all my household information in check.  I fell in love with this site!

Imagine how excited I was when I learned CEO Cynthia Ewer had also created a notebook for organizing Christmas.   I have used it almost every year since 2001 to help me be organized and nearly stress-free for the holidays and it has worked!

There are four different notebooks you can use to get organized for Christmas:  Christmas Countdown, Holiday Grand Plan, Houseworks Holiday Plan and Rudolph Club.

Christmas Countdown was the first plan I used. It was the easiest for me to accomplish because I didn’t think about Christmas til early November, like some of you.  Cynthia’s motto for this one is “six weeks to a stress-free Christmas!” I have to admit Christmas was not stress-free that first year, but it was stress-reduced.

If this is the plan you choose, you still have several weeks before you need to get started.  So, you can forget about all this Christmas planning stuff til the end of October.

After we moved to the great state of Texas, I found the Holiday Grand Plan. I began using it about four years ago.  This one is a bit longer but helps you get your whole house clean, organized and decorated from the first week of September to the week before Christmas.  Then you simply maintain what you’ve accomplished and celebrate.

Now, I realize you’ve already missed a week if this is the plan you’re interested in, but the first couple of weeks are pretty easy.  They’re focused on making lists (compiling addresses for Christmas cards, a baking planner, etc.) and answering questions about the previous Christmas; questions like “What would my ideal Christmas be like?”

Hmmm…let’s see.  There’d be copious amounts of money so I could buy those things I’ve always wanted to buy for my sweet husband, with expensive taste, who often goes without and to fly all our family down for one big family Christmas.  We are in Texas after all and everything’s bigger in Texas. 

There are also some new printables this year like the Holiday Sales Planner for tracking those Black Friday deals you have a hankerin’ for.

Hey, I’m in the South now. I can say hankerin’ if I want.  I also like shoot-far and bull frickin’ pucky. Though my family makes fun of me and asks me what bull pucky is which leads to an interesting discussion on cow poo and now I’m way off topic.

Another new printable for the Holiday Grand Plan is the Room-by-Room Decor Planner.  I am very excited about this one since we are leasing a bigger house with a more open layout.  This will come in handy if I get my way this year and have two trees.  One real, one artificial.

Oh, I’m getting giddy just thinking about it.  A real live Christmas tree is what Christmas smells like.  You just have to have one once in your life!

The Houseworks Holiday Plan is similar to the Holiday Grand Plan, however, it’s also a bit like a book club. It’s based on Cynthia’s book, Houseworks.  When I discovered it, I couldn’t afford to purchase the book.  I would like to use it in the future, but I’m happy with the grand plan.

I don’t know much about the Rudolph Club; it’s fairly new to the Organized Christmas website. Here are the basics: members (you can join for free) have a virtual get together on the message boards the 25th of every month throughout the year to focus on one organizational and seasonal task to get ready for the big day.

All of these plans are great and fit many personalities.  Let’s hope that’s one personality per person,  but hey, to each her own.  You simply choose the plan that fits your schedule, then print to your heart’s content.  And the best part:  all the printables are FREE!!

Another of my favorite’s is making the notebook.  It can be as minimalistic or ornate as you choose.  Visit Christmas Planner, a focus site of Organized Christmas.  There are many ways to create and decorate your notebook.

Here’s to an organized Christmas for all and to all a blessed Christmas!

Love,

TEW (aka Mel)

3 Comments

Filed under Organization

3 responses to “Organizing for Christmas

  1. Mel, this post just MADE my day! Imagine–you go all the way back to 2001?

    I just loved reading your story. It is SO true that these changes take time, and that you phase them in from year to you–but you shared it in a way I think everyone can learn from.

    Wow. What a great compliment. I’m glowing–thank you!!!

    CEO

    • Cynthia,

      Wow! You made my day!! I just called my husband and said, “Guess who just commented on my blog?!” at a pretty high decibel. I was ecstatic to say the least. Thank you for reading my post.

      Blessings,
      Mel

  2. Marlene

    Awwww, I love it!!!! I love how you put the links in. I read this today and am trying to get organized already for the holiday’s. I went to mom and dad’s today and it made me want to do it even more. She has it all decked out for Fall and Halloween. You know how she is. Anyway, I just wanted you to know that I loved this and miss you a lot. Can’t wait to read more blogs from you. Love you guys.

Leave a Reply

