No Meats, Sweets or Soda for 21 Days…9 Days In

So, I’m back on my vegetarian diet and trying to eat gluten free, as an experiment–which I’m sure I’ll write about at some point this year.  I’ve also been avoiding sweets and soda.

Why is it so hard to quit soda? I am addicted to it, mostly Dr. Pepper.  Then Coke started to become my nemesis while I tried to avoid the evil Doctor.  I know it’s not just the sugar, it’s the caffeine.  That’s a huge part of it.  I also don’t like how I feel when I go without; I get major headaches.  I can go without sweets without too much withdrawal, but soda?  Forgeddaboudit!

To borrow a phrase from Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin in their book Skinny Bitch:  “Sugar is the Devil.” So, let’s apply some logic.  (Being a homeschooling mom, I can’t pass up the chance to teach you something.)

  • Sugar is the Devil.
  • Soda is made with sugar.
  • Therefore, soda is the Devil.

So, why am I doing this for 21 days? For two separate reasons, one of which I’ll share.  I am always craving something sweet and I want to be free of the “need” to eat sugar.

To make it doubly hard right now, my daughter’s birthday is next week and I have to try a tiny bit of her cake.  It’s also Girl Scout cookie season and my sweet girl is a Girl Scout.  Lemonades, Thin Mints, and Thanks-A-Lots are my weakness.

I fell off the wagon and ate two.  Cookies, not boxes.  I guess that means I have to start over.

*Note:  Dr. Pepper/Seven Up Inc. and Coca-Cola Company, please don’t sue me for libel.  I still love you.

2 Comments

Filed under Randomness

2 responses to “No Meats, Sweets or Soda for 21 Days…9 Days In

  1. michael

    You can do it, hon! It is hard, but doable. I know you can! My weakness is that good Texas BBQ and Tex-Mex, especially fajitas. Day 19 for me having none of either, plus none of those previously mentioned Girl Scout cookies. And by the way, I AM calling a time-out for our girl’s Birthday!

    • Thanks hon! I don’t want us to act like ravenous crazy people when it’s over. I also want us to do this more often and include the kids. Yes sir…time out for our sweet girl’s birthday! Love you!

Leave a Reply

