Tips for Sticking to Your Daily Blogging

I know what you’re thinking. Who am I to be offering tips on daily blogging when I literally just joined the Postaday crowd three days ago?  I have two answers for you.

First Answer: I’ve been writing off and on for over 25 years. I started writing stories and poems as early as third grade.  During difficult teenage years, I wrote a lot of poetry.  I’ve written for a women’s ministry newletter as a contributor and an editor.  And I’ve filled quite a few journals.  My point?  I know how hard it is to get started and continue writing.

Second answer: I’ve been a blogger for three years.  While I’ve mostly been a hit-and-miss blogger during that time, there were short stints of daily posting or several-days-a-week posting.  A lot of that writing got done when I was on a creative roll.  Ideas would flow in so fast I would be drafting three posts at once.  I didn’t always get those extras published, but they were saved ready for a later date.  Some are finished, some are still raw.

So, how can you be sure to post daily (or weekly)?

  • Get a notebook or sketchbook just for blogging ideas. I have a simple five subject notebook that I’ve divided into ideas, tips for blogging, etc.  I not only get ideas about what to write, but also about photos I have or photos I’d like to take.  Try to keep it with you all the time so whenever an idea pops up, you’re not using a napkin or an old receipt.
  • Write two or three posts at once and schedule them for publishing. When I discovered this feature on my first blog, I was ecstatic.  You can schedule your posts to publish any day and time you choose.  Just be sure to finish a post you’ve started and scheduled.  Once you click on Schedule it’s going out for all to read, unless you edit your publish date and time before it posts.  I have published unfinished posts and it was embarrassing.  Especially when it posted to my facebook account.
  • Make an appointment with yourself and stick to it. I learned about this from a Franklin Covey planner, Leadership, a few years ago.  It’s too easy to set aside something we want to do for everyone and everything else.  Sometimes it’s procrastination.  Sometimes it’s family or friends, housework or schoolwork.  I find I am a better person, wife and mother when I make time for me and write what’s on my mind.

Those are my tips for daily blogging.  Enjoy what comes to mind.  Get it out of your head and into the blogosphere!

Blessings,

Mel

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging

One response to “Tips for Sticking to Your Daily Blogging

  1. I agree. I’ve been at this for 20 days and mostly I write when I feel like and save it for future use.

    Din know I can schedule drafts to be publish.. Gonna check that feature out NOW. 🙂 thanks

Leave a Reply

